The creation of the UNESCO-PREV Chair is the result of a close partnership between Université de Sherbrooke, Université du Québec à Montréal and Concordia University. The triadic and diverse nature of the Chair’s leadership is essential and embodied within its governance structure. It is based on an interdisciplinary and intersectoral approach, combined with expertise, which is essential to addressing the prevention of violent radicalization.

The UNESCO-PREV Chair benefits from shared leadership and varied research and field experiences from its co-holders. Finally, it guarantees the pooling of resources between these leading institutions.


Executive Committee:

The Steering Committee monitors the work according to the Chair’s objectives. It advises the Chairholders and is responsible, among other things, for approving the annual activity reports, as well as any significant changes to the budget or the Chair’s objectives. The Steering Committee also approves the annual planning of research and dissemination activities, as well as the Chair’s scientific program as defined by the Scientific Committee. It meets once or twice a year.


Composition of the committee

4 representatives from Université de Sherbrooke


  • The co-Chairholder, Prof. David Morin;
  • The Director of the Scientific Committee, Prof. Sami Aoun;
  • The Vice-Rector, Research and Graduate Studies, Université de Sherbrooke, Prof. Jean-Pascal Lemelin;
  • The Vice-Dean of Graduate Studies, Faculty of Arts and Social Studies, Prof. Thérèse Audet.

2 representatives from Université du Québec à Montréal


  • The co-Chairholder, Prof. Ghayda Hassan;
  • The Director of the Partnerships and Innovation Support Department, Ms. Caroline Roger.

2 Concordia University representatives:


  • The co-Chairholder, Prof. Vivek Venkatesh;
  • Director of Research Development at the Office of the Vice-Rector, Research and Graduate Studies, Ms. Dominique Michaud.

1 external and independent member (to be confirmed)


Expert Committee

In accordance with its statutes, the UNESCO-PREV Chair establishes an independent committee of high-level national and international experts.

The main mandate of this committee is to advise the co-holders in the development of the Chair’s programming and annual activities, to strengthen its scientific work quality and to develop networking among its partners.

This committee also promote the activities of the other centres of expertise and encourage collaboration between them. This committee is composed of experts with proven skills and experience in preventing violent radicalization and extremism. It is independent, multidisciplinary and representative, as far as possible, of the different regions of the world.

The functions of this committee are:


  • participate in two annual meetings (by video conference or in person);
  • advise co-holders on the Chair’s activities, including annual programming;
  • propose, where applicable, joint projects;
  • evaluate the nominations of the associate members of the Chair;;
  • evaluate the networks of local experts or centres of expertise associated with the Chair;
  • transmit information about your activities or those of your organization so that they can be shared and promoted within the Chair’s networks and on its website and social networks;
  • participate directly in the work and activities of the Chair according to your interests and availability;
  • be informed of all the Chair’s activities on a regular basis.


President of the Committee

Sami Aoun: Professor, School of Applied Politics, University of Sherbrooke. Director of the Observatory on the Middle East and North Africa (OMAN). Raoul Dandurand Chair in Strategic and Diplomatic Studies



David Morin: Associate Professor, School of Applied Politics, University of Sherbrooke. Co-director of “l’Observatoire sur la radicalisation et l’extrémisme violent (OSR)”.


Ghayda Hassan: Psychologist. Associate Professor, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Director of the Canada Practitioners Network for the Prevention of Radicalization and Extremist Violence (CPN-PREV).


Vivek Venkatesh: Associate Professor, Art Education, Concordia University. Director of the Centre for the Study of Learning and Performance. Director of project SOMEONE (Social Media Education Every Day).



Abdelwahab Ben Hafaiedh: Professor of Sociology –FSHST- University of Tunis. President of the Applied Social Science Forum (ASSF: Arab Region). Secretary General of CAFA Network (Civic Actors in Fight Against Violent Extremism).


Jonathan Birdwell: Deputy Director and Head of Policy & Research at the Institute of Strategic Dialogue (ISD), overseeing ISD’s policy work and networks including the Policy Planners’ Network and the Strong Cities Network, as well as overseeing ISD’s work on education policy and programming. Institute of Strategic Dialogue


Nicolas Chabot: Head of the State Security Team, Department of Intelligence, Analysis and Operations Support. Ministère de la Sécurité Publique du Québec


Larry Gbevlo-Lartey: Director  of  the African Centre for the Study and Research on Terrorism (ACSRT) and Special Representative of the African Union Chairperson for Counter-Terrorism Cooperation. ACSRT


Alfredo Joignant: Full Professor of the School of Political Science of the University Diego Portales of Chile; main researcher of the Political and Social Conflict area and of the Observatory of Conflicts of the Centre for Social Conflict and Cohesion Studies (COES). University Diego Portales of Chile


Daniel Khoeler : Director of German Institute on Radicalization and De-radicalization Studies (GIRDS); co-founder of the peer reviewed open access Journal on De-radicalization and member of the Editorial Board of the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism in The Hague. GIRDS


Simon Kuany: Prevention of Violent Extremism through Education Specialist at UNESCO Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Education for Peace and Sustainable Development (MGIEP). MGIEP


Pascale Laborier: Professor of Political Science, Co-Director of the Master 2 in Political Sciences and President of the Department of Political Science at the University of Paris Ouest Nanterre, France. She is also the head of the Scientific Council on Radicalisation Processes (COSPRAD) within the Athena Alliance. University of Paris Ouest Nanterre


Amer Makarem: Director  of  “Youth Association of the Blind ” based in Lebanon.


Marie-Bernarde Pérès: Expert Advisor, Direction of Inclusive Society and Interculturalism. Ministère de l’Immigration, de la Diversité et de l’Inclusion du Quebec


Cécile Rousseau. Full Professor, Department of Psychiatry at McGill University, (Division of Social and Transcultural Psychiatry); Research and clinical psychiatrist at the Montreal Children’s Hospital where she directs the Transcultural Child Psychiatry Clinic. SHERPA-RAPS Research and Training Centre. McGill University


Bakary Sambe : Executive Director for the Timbuktu Institute, African Center for Peace Studies; Coordinator of the Observatory of Religious Radicalism and Conflicts in Africa; Assistant Professor at the Center for the study of Religions, Timbuktu Institute, Gaston Berger University


Sara Savage: Social psychologist and senior research Associate in the Psychology and Religion Research Group based in the Department of Psychology, University of Cambridge and directs the ICthinking research group. Cambridge University


Lori-Anne Théroux-Benoni: Regional Director of the Institute for Security Studies, Regional office for West Africa, the Sahel and the Lake Chad Basin, Dakar. ISS


Corinne Torrekens: Professor at Faculté de Philosophie et Sciences sociales of the Université Libre de Bruxelles and researcher of Group for research on Ethnic Relations, Migrations and Equality(GERME). Université Libre de Bruxelles


Carol Mottet: Human Security Expert, Human Security Division, Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), Switzerland